jump to navigation

Political Asylum August 31, 2009

Posted by Sanity in Politics, reform, wisdom.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

HELLO Hello hello ello lo o…

Well, I had an idea this morning and the realization that I haven’t blogged enough or posted on my own site in way too long.  Maybe I’m here by myself.  Sanity is in low supply nowadays and there are not as many brains in government either.

Well, I plan on changing a few things.  Too many remnants of insecurity when I was initially defining my site, but I’ll probably procrastinate again.

No, the subject of today’s post pertains to sad state of politics in this country.  The Democrats are not actually any more productive than a year ago when their approval rating was lower than Bush’s. They appear to be more productive because they spend money really fast, but they can’t really improve things overnight like all the campaign rhetoric would have had you believe.  I measure productivity in the ‘effect’ not the number of bills written and passed.  They can completely ignore the Republicans and the Republicans are only busy posturing and attacking and scrambling for scraps of influence.

It doesn’t really matter though because it is no longer about what either party accomplishes.  This country (including the Party’s, the media, the talking heads, and citizens… and non-citizens) are completely focused on bad mouthing the other side.  Liberals vs. Conservatives.  Far-left loons vs. Right-wing extremists.  Neo-this, neo-that. Blame Bush, Blame Clinton.  If the “Left” proposed the idea/solution, then the “Right” must oppose it, vice versa, etc, etc.

I am tired of it.  I’m not the only one, but I’m going to re-introduce the concept of a new direction, and to continue the working analogy of direction, I declare myself to be an Upist.  Everyone talks about progress, moving forward, hope and change.  That’s why I chose “Up”.  I want to raise the expectation of government to work for EVERYONE, not just be an avenue for abuse, corruption and finding someone else to blame, punish or pay for things.

The mascot for this new Party/direction is the Eagle (or maybe the Falcon – someone who understands and agrees with my point and is more of an expect on birds can refine which features/characteristics fit better).

Now since there are always two sides and I don’t mean to be UP-ity, the “Down-ers” can still be a positive part of the solution and be “Down to Earth” or whatever completes the picture.  No single outlook will fit every facet of society nor make everyone happy.  It is about working together.  It is about growing and working together.  Different methods work and different concerns exist at different levels of society.  There has to be communication in BOTH directions (Up and Down) of the levels of society.  The safest example I can give without starting a political fight, hopefully, would be in agriculture.  Individual farmers need to know what crops are in demand but need to have a way to balance profit so everyone doesn’t plant one crop and prevent anyone from profitting.

One of the things I wish to communicate over time is specific examples of how we argue about things that “miss the mark”.  There are problems and there are causes of those problems and then there are problems with the same way we try to solve all problems.  If I have time, national healthcare is a great example since it provides so many problems with it.  Hopefully I will start that thread soon.

Comment, argue, compliment, ramble.  Just help me get the idea going that we don’t have to keep being led by the broken two-party system.

Comments»

1. Fr. Ernesto - September 5, 2009

I would go for the falcon rather than the eagle. The eagle has been used for many types of governments, some of which have been quite ugly. I do not think that the falcon has previous associations.

2. Sanity - September 6, 2009

Welcome to my playground, Fr. Ernesto,

Are you implying the ADHD news organizations would raise questions about the past associations of my mascot? Wow.

Eagle has left the nest. I repeat. Eagle has left the nest.

(Note to self: Make sure Falcon has paid his taxes)

3. Are we not all tired of the arguing yet? | OrthoCuban - September 6, 2009

[…] based on real logical principles? Well, you are not the only one. Below is a quote from another blog. It doesn’t really matter though because it is no longer about what either party accomplishes.  […]

4. WeekendDiver - September 19, 2009

I’d propose the Bee Hummingbird… it is the world’s smallest bird: http://www.avianweb.com/beehummingbirds.html

One thing that both the left and the right have in common is their desire to increase the size of government. I think a bird like the bee hummingbird would be a refreshing change for the better!

By the way, it was nice to meet you tonight at the ice cream social 🙂

5. Sanity - September 23, 2009

WeekendDiver – Nice to meet you also, but I’m looking for a mascot that can stand its own ground. Smaller government is goal a I support, but that is not where we are now. There is a complicated path to get there and a hummingbird is not the mascot to get us there. It can join us at the finish line though.


Leave a Reply

