jump to navigation

Things I Promise To Waste My Time On April 1, 2009

Posted by Sanity in Constitution, Politics.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

First, in response to a certain challenge to lay out how I would change things, I will do what Obama promised to do and hasn’t. I will try to find a detailed report on the most recent and complete national budget I can find, and also the detailed list of national debt, and *I* will go line by line. Might be boring, probably will never finish, but if no one else is going to add up all the wastes and try to fix them…

Second, I plan to rewrite the Constitution.  I already started and I am already having trouble. Every time I read the Constitution, Bill of Rights, etc, there are things that distract my understanding, or focus from finishing to read it. There are terms and formal language that I don’t think younger generations really understand. I don’t want slang, or “You know, like, we want freedom” stuff. But I wanted to rewrite the Constitution as if the Bill of Rights was included in it, as if it was written in current times, merge in the Amendments as if they were originally there, and then add new amendments, in place, to address the problems and abuses we have and are currently having. If someone does not care or understand what would motivate me to do so, skip this, but I’ve already learned interesting things like what is a “direct tax” and that the 14th Amendment was never legally ratified.

And it has brought up other questions.

  • If a new Constitution was REALLY created now, who would have to sign it? The President, VP, and all of Congress? Or just the governor of each state?
  • How do I properly merge the Amendments? What exactly should be inserted or replaced?
  • The number of Senators is fixed, but how was the present number of Representatives maintained?
  • Why are U.S. territories allowed Representation but not a vote? How “U.S.” are those territories?
  • I don’t want to suggest a new flag, but why not combine Rhode Island and smaller states, then split the large states like California? Would Southern Californians then be called scalions(sic)? Would Northern Illinois be Nil?
Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

